Morocco Highlands trekking Tour

Here is one of our best Morocco trekking group tours. Yes indeed, the undiscovered Highlands, a region of the Riff mountains in Northern Morocco that is not frequented by mass tourism. So, to explore the natural and cultural aspects of Morocco highlands trekking here is like discovering a newfound land. Northeast of Morocco is mainly reserved for pastors and husbandry nomadic livestock. This is a 12 days Morocco active tour, a natural setting, unlike anything you have ever seen before. Untouched Morocco mountains by time, secret valleys, flowing streams, extended steppes, all are in a natural setting in this Morocco tour for hiking and trekking enthusiasts. Join our small group hiking tour to Morocco to enjoy countless outdoor and human encounters seldom offered with the authenticity and nature perfection. Outdoor activities, hiking, and trekking in Morocco, in general, are a joy in every sense of the word. But this Morocco trekking venture is a treat for all active travelers. One of our best adventure tours to Morocco, you will love it guaranteed.

PRICING & AVAILABILITY

DEPARTING FINISHING SEATS TOTAL IN USD
Fri 28 Oct 2022 Sun 6 Nov 2022 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 11 Nov 2022 Sun 20 Nov 2022 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 25 Nov 2022 Sun 4 Dec 2022 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 9 Dec 2022 Sun 18 Dec 2022 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 23 Dec 2022 Sun 1 Jan 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 6 Jan 2023 Sun 15 Jan 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 20 Jan 2023 Sun 29 Jan 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 3 Feb 2023 Sun 12 Feb 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 17 Feb 2023 Sun 26 Feb 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 3 Mar 2023 Sun 12 Mar 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 17 Mar 2023 Sun 26 Mar 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 31 Mar 2023 Sun 9 Apr 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 14 Apr 2023 Sun 23 Apr 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 28 Apr 2023 Sun 7 May 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 12 May 2023 Sun 21 May 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 26 May 2023 Sun 4 Jun 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 9 Jun 2023 Sun 18 Jun 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 23 Jun 2023 Sun 2 Jul 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 7 Jul 2023 Sun 16 Jul 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 21 Jul 2023 Sun 30 Jul 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 4 Aug 2023 Sun 13 Aug 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 18 Aug 2023 Sun 27 Aug 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 1 Sep 2023 Sun 10 Sep 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 15 Sep 2023 Sun 24 Sep 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 29 Sep 2023 Sun 8 Oct 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 13 Oct 2023 Sun 22 Oct 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 27 Oct 2023 Sun 5 Nov 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 10 Nov 2023 Sun 19 Nov 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 24 Nov 2023 Sun 3 Dec 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 8 Dec 2023 Sun 17 Dec 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION
Fri 22 Dec 2023 Sun 31 Dec 2023 Available $2185 RESERVATION

ITINERARY

Upon your arrival at Tangier Port, you will be greeted by your tour leader who will take on your first day exploring the Northern Morocco Highlands Trekking Tour along the Atlantic shore to the magnificent Blue city Chefchaouen. Your guide will immerse you in the history of Morocco. This scenic drive of about 45 miles passes through lush farmland and nurseries growing a variety of mountain peaks to Where Chefchaouen is nestled. After your check-in and relaxing in the morning, you may choose to do the half-day city tour of Chefchaouen in the afternoon. Dinner and accommodation will be at your hotel.

Start your day traveling with your Morocco small group tour traveling from Chefchaouen to Ouazzane, the jewel of the Rif Mountains, and one of the best blue cities in the Mediterranean Bassin. Travel to Ourzagh in the Jbala mountains to reach the holy city of Ouazzane. After been only a lost village called Dchera Jbal Erihan (the village on the mountain of Myrtles), the distinguished Idrissid Sherif Moulay Abdullah Ben Brahim made out of it a center of Sufism and a place of spiritual retreats for Moroccans. Visit the historic sites with your local guide. The city mountains rugged streets is not only an ordinary walking tour, it is indeed a hiking morning to discover Ouazzane. Return back at the end of the day to Chefchaouen, one of the old Moorish white towns. Your riad is a boutique inn owned by a woman who will greet you with a traditional mint tea and cookies of her own making.

Travel from Chefchaouen on your exclusively women trekking tour across the beautiful road is the sprawling farming settlement from the Roman time of Fez el Bali. Then, experience the unique Berber and Moorish lifestyles are seen in the Amergou Mountains. This route will be lined by picturesque villages with majestic evergreens forests providing a natural backdrop. Start your afternoon by an excursion to hike in the Tamesnit, in the heart of the Rif Mountains, the Belvedere of Lalla Outka, and the isolated shrine of Moulay Bouchta El Khammar (master of music). The shrine is also a pilgrimage destination for Berber musicians who come to pay their respect and seek blessings. The night will be hosted by a Berber family of mountaineers who will share with us their best natural cooking for a festive tribal dinner to welcome guests hiking tour to Morocco unchartered highlands. Enjoy an encounter with Moroccan countrymen in their homes. (Camping night).

Have a wonderful homemade breakfast prepared for you by the women household. Afterward, we will gather for a travel day debriefing our small group travel day, bid goodbye to our host Berber family, and take off overland to Taza. Drive to Taza in the morning, an ancient city that stands as the gateway of the Middle Atlas Mountains. We will cross the Rif Massif surrounded by the pine, acacia, and cedar trees, as far as the eye can see. Monkeys can also be seen, along with thousands of bird species. Enjoy mild hiking in the Jebala Mountains with your mountain guide who will lead you through your hiking trails. We will also visit a day market in a village to explore women trading in these traditional souks. Most of the crafts in this area are made by women. Dinner and overnight will be in the hotel.

We will meet in the morning for breakfast and travel debriefing. Our small group of adventure travelers will be introduced to the local guide who will take you in the morning on a historic visit of Old Taza, then take you on a hiking afternoon to the Friouato Mountains visiting also the taverns of Friouato. Our group of women travelers will enjoy the breathtaking sceneries and exquisite Berber villages that fill up the vistas of these areas unknown to mass tourists. Your exclusively women expedition is absolutely in unchartered tourist areas. You will be pioneers of these ecotourism programs in Morocco sustaining these rural communities in remote areas of Morocco. This is as exclusive as it gets especially for women explorers. Dinner and overnight are in the hotel.

After breakfast, our Morocco adventure expedition will proceed to explore one of the steepest mountain terrains starting at Tazekka National Park with its cliff-hanging villages and neolithic farmed terraces unique to this region. We will stop at The Chikara Caves to explore the natural sites and have an idea about the geological formation of this massif mountains. At the village of Bab Boudir, we will cross Mount Ahmar dense cedar and cork pine forests. Stop for a picnic lunch in a natural setting at the pass of Bab Arba overlooking the valley of Maghraoua. Your small group trekking afternoon will take you to the Berber village of Ribat el Kheir, then Bir Tamtam then continues to the Gorges of Sidi Harazem thermal springs near Fez. A festive dinner will be prepared for us to enjoy a comfortable night in a Beni Sadden Compound with local Berbers.

After breakfast in our Berber Guesthouse, we will travel to Fez to meet our local guide who will introduce the magic of Fez to our group of travelers. At only ten miles distance we will discover the ancient walled Medina of Fez. Our guide will meet us at the Gate of Bab Ftouh who will take you on a historic and walking tour of the Old Fez. The full-day will be devoted to exploring the marvels of the medina, its monuments, mosques, fountains, Koranic Schools, open guilds of crafts markets. Most importantly the potency of skillful women guilds of Fez especially in weavings, silk embroidery, and rugs. In the afternoon we will do the outskirts of its ramparts visit the traditional potters then retreat to our Berber compound for a festive night with Kansara drummers and Ahaidous rural dancing of the Beni Sadden Berber tribes. A Country Couscous is prepared especially for our small group visit, then a tribal local group of musicians will animate your dinner with traditional Moroccan music and dance. Dance till you drop. (Guesthouse lodging)

After breakfast, we will ride our overland 4x4 Land Cruisers towards Mount Zerhoune leaving the Atlas Mountains behind and trekking up to the Rif Mountains Massifs. Mount Zerhoun will be our first stop at the holy city of Moulay Idriss. This is historically the first Islamic town build in the 8th century still intact with its mountains refuge citadel to discover. Step back in time and walk the narrow stared streets of these mountains that are built totally on the steep slope of Mount Zarhoun. Your guide will take you on a walking tour of this ancient town. Be ready for a great hiking session in the city then when you are done at the top of the mountain we will take a Millenium footpath that would lead us down across ancient olive groves following in the Roman footsteps cartwheel path by the village of Fertassa overlooking the valley of Volubilis. Lunch will be in nature shaded under a biblical olive tree. Continue our trek down to the Volubilis Archeological Site where we will visit the Roman site of Volubilis. After lunch in a local riad, our Morocco group tour will take off to Rabat. Overnight will be in Rabat. (hotel Accommodation)

After breakfast we will finish visiting Rabat historic and cultural sights, then travel overland to Tangier Port where we will bid you goodbye and get you ready to catch your ferry back to Spain. We hope you have enjoyed our Morocco from Spain adventure overland tour. Come back and visit us again on another Morocco overland adventure tour or expeditions. Have a safe and pleasant journey back home.

INCLUSIONS

INCLUDES

  • 8 nights accommodation
  • Services of local guides
  • Transportation in 4X4 vehicles
  • Breakfast, and dinner daily
  • Hotel taxes and service charges
  • Camping equipments

HOTELS

  • Rabat: Hotel Oudaya, 1 night
  • Chefchaouen: Casa Hassan Riad, 2 night,
  • Lalla Outka: Camping, 1 night
  • Taza: Friouato Hotel, 2 nights
  • Fez: Khawlani Guesthouse, 2 nights