Morocco Overland Adventure Tour

In Morocco south and north are like two different countries contrasting both in climate and landscapes. The south seems to embody a step backward in time, to an era of the biblical aura seemingly an ancient Mesopotamia of adobe and roof gardens. The vast Sahara expansion seems surreal, with its plateaus bordered by mirages and stark rock formation. Along these lacing valleys and rivers, you will discover sandcastle-like kasbahs and romantic oases, where tall date palms groves hedged by silver-green reeds. Sand dunes in the far horizon are constantly reshaped by gentle winds, sheltered by azure-blue African skies shape the backdrop of these lush vistas. Heaven on earth, this is for any active and nature lover traveler.

Hiking through these breath-taking landscapes that have attracted artists, poets, and filmmakers are enthralling and amazing. Even Cecil de mill and Martin Scorsese were unable to capture on film the majesty and unsurpassed beauty of morocco's southern lands. It is literally heaven on earth, which has a depth that can only be truly embraced and appreciated by the naked eye.

We have designed this tour especially for the outback lovers of nature and authenticity. It is an overland trek in the southern part of the kingdom but it is offered for all kind of people if you can take a walk in the park then you can do this tour. The tour starts in Marrakech and ends in it as well as covering a ceremonial road. We depart from Marrakech the best man-made oasis on earth climbing the highest pass of Tizi n Tichka then down to Ouarzazate a Berber city in crossroads between the Draa valley and the Dades valley. This part of the tour is for rural enthusiasts, mountain lovers and typical cultural encounters with most remote people in their daily life. An active tour in Morocco, unlike the others.

Shoppers, will love the Berber souks (daily markets) as all you see from produce to utensils, to crafts are locally produced. This overland tour will continue on its way crossing some of the breathtaking oases and kasbahs (adobe castles) to the Todra valley the highest and narrower canyons in Morocco. Along with your trek riding 4x4 land rovers through the great south of Morocco where scenery changes in every horizon, you will reach in this expedition suddenly the vastness of the Sahara desert. No word can describe this ethereal god made ocean of emptiness yet it is indeed so fulfilling. Welcome to the ocean of dunes and the land of the camel. Enjoy this trekking expedition in the great south of Morocco. If you are searching for Morocco best deals for 2018-2019, then we are up to your budget.

PRICING & AVAILABILITY

DEPARTING FINISHING SEATS TOTAL IN USD
Wed 12 Sep 2018 Wed 19 Sep 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 26 Sep 2018 Wed 3 Oct 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 10 Oct 2018 Wed 17 Oct 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 24 Oct 2018 Wed 31 Oct 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 7 Nov 2018 Wed 14 Nov 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 21 Nov 2018 Wed 28 Nov 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 5 Dec 2018 Wed 12 Dec 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 19 Dec 2018 Wed 26 Dec 2018 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 2 Jan 2019 Wed 9 Jan 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 16 Jan 2019 Wed 23 Jan 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 30 Jan 2019 Wed 6 Feb 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 13 Feb 2019 Wed 20 Feb 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 27 Feb 2019 Wed 6 Mar 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 13 Mar 2019 Wed 20 Mar 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 27 Mar 2019 Wed 3 Apr 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 10 Apr 2019 Wed 17 Apr 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 24 Apr 2019 Wed 1 May 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 8 May 2019 Wed 15 May 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 22 May 2019 Wed 29 May 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 5 Jun 2019 Wed 12 Jun 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 19 Jun 2019 Wed 26 Jun 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 3 Jul 2019 Wed 10 Jul 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 17 Jul 2019 Wed 24 Jul 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 31 Jul 2019 Wed 7 Aug 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 14 Aug 2019 Wed 21 Aug 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 28 Aug 2019 Wed 4 Sep 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 11 Sep 2019 Wed 18 Sep 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 25 Sep 2019 Wed 2 Oct 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 9 Oct 2019 Wed 16 Oct 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 23 Oct 2019 Wed 30 Oct 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 6 Nov 2019 Wed 13 Nov 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 20 Nov 2019 Wed 27 Nov 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 4 Dec 2019 Wed 11 Dec 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY
Wed 18 Dec 2019 Wed 25 Dec 2019 Available $885 INQUIRY

ITINERARY

Upon your arrival at the Menara airport in Marrakech, you will find your guide waiting to take you to your hotel for check-in. You will devote your day to the exploration of Marrakech many historical sites. You will devote your morning to the exploration of Marrakech many historical sites, starting at the Menara, a magnificent pool surrounded by flowerbeds, reflecting the image of an exquisite Moorish edifice. It was constructed in 1866 for dignitaries, who enjoyed glorious sunsets with the ethereal atlas mountains as a backdrop. The pool also functions as an innovative irrigation system that is serving dry life in the desert.

Your Marrakech historic tour will cover many impressive sites, including the Koutoubia minaret (which is identical to la Giralda, a tower found in Sevilla, Spain), and the Saadian tombs, which demonstrate Moorish architecture at its best. The tombs consist of sixteenth-century mausoleums, which had lain walled-in and undiscovered until 1917. Next, you will explore the gardens of the Agdal then the Majorelle. Finally, you will return to your hotel for dinner and other accommodations.

You will spend most of your day en route to Tinghir riding with your guide, exploring the legendary kasbah of Ait-Benhaddou, a renowned architectural marvel classified as UNESCO world heritage. Your trekking expedition will lead you to the highest pass in Morocco, the Taddart, and Tizi Tishka pass, at an altitude of 11,000 feet. This pass divides the mountains into two distinct facets: the harsh, stark side acting as a shield that protects the hinterland from the dry expansion of the Sahara, and the lush side, soft and evergreen, which collects the moisture from the Gherbi winds of the Atlantic ocean.

You will arrive in Ouarzazate, a city of pleasure for both visitors and locals, where southern tribesmen and Berber villagers bring their goods to market. After lunch in Ouarzazate, you will continue to explore the Dades valley, traveling through El Kelaa de Mgouna and Boumalne to view the inimitable natural vistas and unusual rock formations. You will then continue onward to Tinghir, which is one large oasis that intercepts the flow of water between the Dades, the Todra valleys across the majestic high atlas mountains. This is an ideal place to stop for the night. You will conclude your day with dinner and other accommodations in your hotel.

Your trekking today will consist of a walking visit to the Todra gorges, after which you will continue to Erfoud, where you will explore the Ziz valley palm groves and oases. One of the most aesthetically pleasing of all southern routes, Erfoud is a dry, red belt of the desert with a sudden drop into a valley filled with date palm groves; it is a land that is lost in antiquity. You will then continue tour trip to Erfoud, one of the most delightful southern regions. You will visit the gorges of Ziz and some of the oases and natural sites before you reach the magnificent town of Erfoud.

Once you have arrived in Erfoud, you leave your vehicle and hop into the vehicle which takes you to meet a caravan of camels that you will ride to camp. You will conclude your day in your camp over the dunes of Merzouga where tents are pitched for you to enjoy a night under the milky way African skies. After dinner, the Rokba drummers will illuminate your night with their lively dances and moving chants. Enjoy this encounter of man and nature at its best. A night unlike any you ever had camping over the dunes of Erg Chebbi in the open desert of the Sahara.

Wake up to an ethereal sunrise over the vastness of the Sahara, a natural scene that has no rival. Climb the dunes on your own as high as you can or ride your camel to trek over these dunes. Breakfast will be ready for you in camp when you return. Make it your photography tour if you wish it is worth it to capture on film these unforgettable moments of your trip south of Morocco.

Afterward, you will eat breakfast with the Tuaregs, and start your trip across the desert back roads towards Zagora exploring the holy city of Rissani and its adobe architecture, the valley of drama and its breathtaking oases. You will reach Zagora the gate to the desert as we call it deep in southern Morocco. Check to your riad when you arrive at Zagora. A festive dinner will be served for you in your hotel.

You will spend your day on an excursion that will take you to the real gateway of the Moroccan Saharan desert. You will drive through the lowlands and along the mountain passes to Tamegroute a humble village where deep knowledge is transmitted in the most simplistic way. There you will visit the famous Moorish koranic library. Full of rare books and documents, the library includes 13th-century writings made on gazelle hide. Afterward, you will return to Zagora for the night. You will conclude your day with dinner and other accommodations in your hotel.

You will spend most of your day en route to Marrakesh, exploring Berber villages and oases, cross one of morocco highest pass, the Taddart, and Tizi-n-Tishka pass, climbing at an altitude of 11,000 feet. You will arrive in Marrakech, a city of pleasure for both visitors and locals, where southern tribesmen and Berber villagers bring their goods to market and find a variety of entertainment. To tourists, the city is a feast for the imagination, full of incomparable beauty, situated before the towering mountains that provide a thrilling backdrop. After a visit to the bustling souks for last minute shopping, you will return to your hotel for a festive Moroccan dinner.

You will depart from the Marrakech airport for your flight, connecting via Casablanca on your way back home with a memorable trip to Morocco to treasure for a lifetime.

INCLUSIONS

INCLUDES

  • Six nights accommodation in 4 star hotels
  • Land Transportation in 4X4 SUVs
  • Breakfast and Dinner daily
  • Camping night over the dunes of Merzouga
  • Hotel Taxes and Luggage handling
  • Multi Lingual Tour Manager and local guides
  • Fees to Monuments and Museums

HOTELS

  • Marrakech: Hotel El Andalous, 2 nights
  • Tinghir: Hotel Kasbah Lamrani, 1 night
  • Merzouga: Kasnbah Leila Camp, 1 night
  • Zagora: Hotel Tinzouline, 2 nights
200 OK

OK

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, [no address given] and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.